Tobacco retailers play an important role in keeping kids healthy. By making sure youth under the age of 18 are not able to buy tobacco products, they work with your community to protect young people—and stay in compliance with the law. Selling tobacco to people under 18 is illegal. The sale of any form of tobacco to anyone under the age of 18 is against the law and will result in fines. Tobacco products include cigarettes, little cigars, cigarillos, chewing tobacco, pipe tobacco, loose tobacco, blunt wraps and bidis, as well as any other product containing tobacco. The sale of single cigarettes to people of any age is also prohibited. Free samples to people of any age are prohibited, except in adult-only retail facilities. Summary of Massachusetts tobacco sales laws (link to downloadable document) Signs are required by law. Stores must post a sign that includes the full text of the law where customers can easily see it. Required signs sheet (rtf format) Required signs and a variety of materials are available to tobacco retailers free of charge. To place an order, go to http://www.maclearinghouse.com. Full text of statewide laws about tobacco can be found at www.mass.gov/dph/mtcp. In addition to statewide laws, many cities and towns have stricter regulations about the sale of tobacco products. Your local Board of Health can provide information about these regulations and penalties for breaking them. Cigarette tax increase Effective July 1, 2008, the Massachusetts cigarette tax has increased by $1.00 per package of 20 and $1.25 per package of 25. Little cigars are now taxed as cigarettes.